Wips of glory

028-1

This is one of my WIPs this week! YEAH! Today my goal is to work on weaving in ends and hopefully finish that by this evening. At six I am going with my mom to buy needles I need for the lapis so I want to have this done so I can start Lapis right away with no guilt necessary! The KAL’s goal was to finish by the 31st of march so I am golden, and really happy with that. I started this on February 8th. Not too shabby.

I am so happy that it looks okay. It definitely differs from the original pattern but in the end it worked. The extra collar stitches I worked made it form a more circular neckline, which is fine with me. I’m so happy, I keep jumping up and down (not kidding). This is my first cardigan and wow, it fits BEAUTIFULLY! If i do say so myself.

I have two other things I’ve been working on today though. 1 is another  pair of Camp Out Mitts. Yes, I’ve already finished the first and not even shown them to you yet!

037

I knit my first pair up in 2 days but the colors are NUTS! I love them for at home but not for at work, where i dress more…professionally than rainbow. So I cast these on so that I can have them as my travel knitting (Lapis is worked off a huge cone,  not practical) and in about 30 minutes I’ve almost finished the top band. Love it. I’m going to do a post with both pairs though so here’s just a sneak peak of the other pair:

034
Crazy right?

My other WIP is of course the Lapis. I finally found that size 5 needles get me gauge and I decided to go with the red yarn I bought, which is elann Soie Bambou. I am slightly paranoid about yardage (it only came in giant cones) so I keep checking the stock on the website 😛 there was 19 left when I ordered and still 17 now so I think I will be okay IF I need to order more.

031

I did a circular swatch so my gauge for in the round would be accurate, although honestly my flat / round stockinette hardly differs at all in tension. The silver yarn is very flashy but I think the red has it’s own sort of luminescence as well. I like the slightly tighter fabric of the red and I think it is a bit more similar to Kessa’s original yarn choice so I’ve decided that’s the one I will be using. I’m naming my project Ruby or Garnet, to go with the theme of Kessa’s Lapis title.

WHEW! Okay, so that’s what I’m working on. I think I’ve got to start posting about things in their own posts and more frequently, instead of a couple of times a week I just dump project on you. Whoops!

Go check out everyone else’s too, of course, at Tami’s Amis.

tami_wip

12 thoughts on “Wips of glory

  1. Woah, seriously? That is your first cardigan? I can hardly believe it! It looks beautiful, it’s no wonder you are so excited to wear it. Wear it proudly! I’m also personally a fan of the crazy mitts, they are bursting with character!

    • Well I did try to knit a FAIL of a cardigan about 6 years ago? But it did not fit at all and since then I’ve completely quit knitting for a year or two and re started! I don’t count it because it was never really finished or EVER worn…and i don’t know where it is, or a lot of my old projects are, anymore 😦 This is my first full sized finished garment, actually, now that I think about it. wow!!!
      I love the mitts too. They keep my fingers warm so I can knit more 🙂

  2. Your Larch is coming together beautifully! It looks so comfy and well fitted. And I really do like the red you chose for Lapis (and the names!). Looking forward to seeing how it knits up!

    • Thanks 🙂 It’s all done minus the button now!

      Oh good 🙂 Me too. I seriously cannot wait to start already! I went to three separate LYS’s yesterday and they all closed like minutes before I got there. I was so disappointed so I am going early today to make sure I get what I need no matter WHAT! I’m impatient!

Leave a comment