FO: Larch Cardigan

If you’ve read my previous entries on the larch cardigan, then you know it may have been an uphill battle at times. But the fact of the matter is, I won the battle!

011-1

I finished the knitting of the Larch earlier in the week and attached the button last night to call it an official FO. I’m still wearing it right now, I love it 🙂 It’s a totally gloomy day here, raining and everything so this purple alpaca hug is making me happy.

025-1

Apparently some people actually quite like the way my collar worked out, so I thought I would just go over what I did again quickly for anyone who wanted to recreate it. (If this doesn’t make sense to you, I’m hoping that’s only because I tried to make it so only people with the pattern will know what to do)

Basically, i picked up stitches (in the fashion of the pattern) all the way to the two edges of the cardigan instead of stopping at the earlier point. This took me a few extra rows than prescribed in the pattern so the last 4 rows of picking up I actually counted as the first four rows of the prescribed ‘full rows of ribbing’ over the entire collar. 029-1

this meant that when I got to the end of those rows, there was an extra edge to now pick up stitches on. This method definitely makes you work more stitches, that is for sure! The two “horizontal” rows that you can see near the base of the collar are the edges I am talking about. You can look back at this post to see where I circled what I did. This method DOES give you one less seam though! The seam to attach the collar is eliminated.

Overall, I’m totally in love. I realized this is my first finished full sized garment. YEAH! I feel like I’ve already grown so much since i re-picked up knitting about 6 months ago. I’ve done so much more than I ever did before, and it makes me happy! Let’s get to the basics on the cardi though:
024-1

Pattern: Larch By Amy Christoffers
Yarn: Berroco Ultra Alpaca Light in Lavender Heather from yarn.com
I would definitely use this yarn again, I really like it. There were no unwanted knots in any of the 8 or 9 skeins I used.
Needles: Size 4 Circulars (Knit picks interchangeables were used)
Notes: See above!!
Knit For: Savory Knitting KAL

Tada!

I have tons of housework to get to but I really want to check out the other pretties at Tami’s Amis. I’m blasting some Duffy and hoping it will motivate me to go fast and do both!

FOfriday

you should do that as well 😉

31 thoughts on “FO: Larch Cardigan

    • seriously, at least that was a bonus! Ultra Alpaca is great, I’m really loving it so far. I thought it might be too itchy but I’ve actually worn it with just a tank top underneath and been fine 🙂

  1. Holy cow does that look amazing! Larch is in my queue for this year and I want to cast on for it right this second after seeing yours. The mods to the collar that you made are very interesting. Way to go on your first full-sized clothing piece!

  2. I just showed my friends at knit night and they swear it’s cute! So I’m blocking it and we’ll see – if it looks anything like yours in the end, I’ll be happy 🙂

    Do you have any idea how to actually knit the collar? I may actually want to reknit this someday!

    • Good! i think the proper way is to only pick up stitches until you get to the flat “front” part…you know, the bound off stitches. Then afterward you would seam those bound of stitches to the edge of the collar. I think.

      • I honestly have no clue. I was wondering if i read it wrong or something because that really was not clear to me at all! especially with there not being an exact stitch count it makes it more confusing. Thanks ❤ your a sweetie 😛

Leave a Reply

