TUTORIAL: How to wash and dry your knits quickly!

Hey Guys!

So today I decided to share with you how I block and dry my knit items. I figured this will be EXTRA useful for my customers who don’t actually knit. I’m sure most of my fellow knitters know this trick! Let’s get started:

019-001

Fill up your sink with soapy luke warm water. I use a specific soap made for knits that doesn’t need to be rinsed. I use this but you could also use baby shampoo or a gentle soap or detergent. Also make sure your sink is clean! I have a second bathroom which is never used and that is my sink. I always cleanse it before I get washing.

020-001

Let them soak for 10 minutes. Then grab them out of the sink and try to pat out as much water as possible before transferring them to a clean towel, without wringing them which could cause them to become misshapen. 

023-001

Fold the towel over the item and pat to get out a bit of extra water.

024-001025-001

Fold over the towel and wrap up like a burrito!!!!

026-001

Kneel on top of the folded towel to really press out the moisture from the knit item and into the towel. this will help them dry MUCH faster!

031-001

Tada! All squeezed out 🙂 You can see the rectangles of moisture where they were pressed.

032-001

Transfer to a dry towel and lay them flat. Depending on the item they may take varying amounts of time to dry.

And that’s it! It’s really easy and it will keep your items looking beautiful for a very long time.

Here’s a pinterest friendly photo for you!

pin it

1 thought on “TUTORIAL: How to wash and dry your knits quickly!

Leave a comment