Honey Cowl and 1Q84

I decided I had to participate in yarn along today because I am fully obsessed with the book I am reading. I’m reading 1Q84.

014-001

THIS BOOK IS CRAZY! I’m only 29% in and I want to read what other people are thinking about it so badly but I don’t want any spoilers in reading reviews! It’s actually published as 1 book although the original japanese version was 3 books. So it’s pretty darn long! I just finished the first book. One thing I wish my kobovox did was tell me what page I am on. Not just what page of the chapter but of the whole book. That’s my only complaint though!

yarnalong_gsheller_gray

Anyways I won’t do into too much details but this book is an ode to George Orwell’s 1984, which I also adored. It follows 2 characters (at least where I am so far) who seem very different. Ah, I don’t even want to say anything, because nothing should be spoiled! If your curious check it out here.

018-001
(yes i took these photos yesterday…I had no idea if i was working and I wanted to be prepared 🙂 )

Okay onto what I am knitting. that is also important!

I’m working on the Honey cowl and ADORING it. I was hesitant to start this project for SO long because I knew it would be large rounds and I was worried it would take forever. Little did I know it’s going really quickly in reality. I think it’s the yarn.

002-001(now that’s a fresh photo!)

The yarn i am using is Art-by-Ana Dreaming DK in Splash. This is a merino cashmere nylon blend of beauty! Ana is an amazing dyer local to me and I love using her yarn so much! I think this will be my first FO from her yarn though actually. She has an etsy store but she sells the majority of her yarn locally. I actually have a skein waiting for me to grab it right now!

This project is using 2 skeins, which I alternate every 2 rows. One is slightly lighter than the other so I felt it necessary. I wanted bits of lighter teal all over the place on this one. I just love the way it looks!!

004-001

It’s so luscious. I can’t wait to wear it! I wish it was slightly more portable, but that’s not stopping me from bringing it on the bus with me. Definitely not. I need to have it at work to knit on my break! I work fun shifts like 2 – 10 pm with no one else but me in the office 🙂

 020
(in the skein)

14 thoughts on “Honey Cowl and 1Q84

  1. hummm that book sounds weird… but in an interesting way…. does that make any sense???
    I loove the colour of yarn you are using! You’re never going to want to take it off when you’re done.

    • haha it does make sense because honestly thats a really good way to describe it! Weird but interesting.

      Me too! i’m obsessed with it. I keep showing it to people and saying “isnt it pretty?!?!?!”

  2. Found you through the yarn along- I’m really digging your yarn and your book selection. I love love love Murakami’s work. 1Q84 is on my to read list. Have you read his other books? Kafka on the Shore is my favourite but I’m also partial to the Wind up Bird Chronicle and Wild Sheep Chase.

Leave a Reply

