owlmazing makes…GNOME MITTENS

010-1

Yay! I am so excited that it is finally Friday and I can share these!!! I’ve been waiting for a FO Friday to post this beautious FO! So check these puppies out and then head on over to Tami’s Amis to check out the other Finished Objects! 🙂

011-1

The pattern is Gnome Mittens by Spillyjane. I chose the following colors from knitpicks palette:
The background – Wasabi
The feet – Bison
Light Blue – Sky
Dark Blue – Delta
Skin – Blush
Beard – Cream
Hats and Stars – Raspberry Heather

They hardly used any of some of the colors so I think I will make some endpaper mittens out of white and perhaps delta or blush.

The mittens were knit up incredibly fast. It was so fun to watch the gnomes form. I love fair isle!!!! LOVE. It’s not as hard as you think – I promise. I knit these in under a month with many many christmas projects slowing me down. In fact, I actually knit about 3/4 of the second mitten over 2 days.

012-1

They are warm and I love them and I wear them EVERY day! I get lots of comments and OMG you knit those?!?!?! about them. I love it, people are so impressed by me! If they only knew how simple it really was.

This is by far my favorite project of 2011, so happy to share them with you!

FOfriday

18 thoughts on “owlmazing makes…GNOME MITTENS

    • Thank you 🙂 I did knit them on DPNs. I know what you mean, I get frustrated like that with socks, i always end up trying to use as few needles as possible. Unfortunately I have no solution to this issue, just push through! 🙂 You can do it.

  1. I’m so glad that these are a for-you knit, and not a gift—I’d never be able to give something that awesome away, if I’d made a pair! Your knitting is fabulous, and the colours are great, too. 😀

  2. The mittens are the cutest I have seen..I cant knit though.. have taken classes but cant grasp it… thanks for sharing your pic. Awesome!

Leave a Reply

