owlmazing makes…the beginnings of a sweater.

And also joins in for Yarn Along! I’ll toss you this quote from Ginny at Small things, who hosts the yarn along:

~ Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs.  I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading? Take a photo and share it either on your blog or on Flickr! ~

This Christmas I received a bunch of gift cards for chapters and decided to buy a kobo vox. It is an e reader! It’s practically an android ipad!! I love it. A) knitting patterns on a screen. So handy. I don’t have a printer, so now I no longer need to HANDWRITE out each pattern I want to make.

009
Oh no, instead I get to use this lovely pink little thing!

Also…I can now read and knit at the same time. Which makes my life seem extra awesome. Two favorite hobbies….combined! Give me miles of garter or stockinette, that’s what I want! Which leads me to my latest project (sorry no good photo…do you know how hard it is to get a snap when its dark when i leave in the morning and dark when i come home?).

drumroll please….

007
(okay…it’s not much yet. I cast on last night!)

The Lightweight Pullover by Hannah Fetig! Yes I am knitting a sweater 🙂 I am using the Andean Treasure Alpaca I bought from Knitpicks for this one, although I intended it for a whole other sweater originally. I decided for my first sweater project it would be best to knit something that has been done many, many times before.

I love that I can knit this thing and read my latest book purchase, a Game of Thrones, at the same time.

Love love love.

I’ll try not to ignore my other projects tooooo much.

001-1

They might get jealous.

3 thoughts on “owlmazing makes…the beginnings of a sweater.

  1. I can’t imagine handwriting out patterns every time! That’s awesome you don’t have to anymore. We just got a kindle over here (the $79 one) and I haven’t tried the knit + read yet…let me know how it goes haha. For me it would likely end with many a slipped stitch. Happy knitting, and thanks for your comment!

    • it was not very fun! And I was always paranoid that i had written something down wrong. Very excited about that.
      I’m pretty good with knitting without looking so a piece of plain knitting and a book and I am good to go! So far I haven’t dropped/slipped any stitches! I usually feel when I’m making an error and just look and fix it 🙂

  2. Would love to have an ereader myself. My problem with reading and knitting/crocheting is that I lose my place on the page. So, then I’m having to pause the knitting/crocheting to find where I had left off reading. Then I get frustrated.

    Good luck on the sweeter, can’t wait to see how it turns out. And yeah! no more handwriting patterns.

    Game of Thrones is in my TBR stack. But, I have a massive amount of other books to read before I get to it :[

Leave a Reply

