owlmazing makes….a very gnomey mitten!

tami_wip

this week I am super duper proud to present my WIP to you.

It is a pattern I am SO excited about. I can’t stop talking about it. Or GUSHING about it to my boyfriend. Or knitting it either.

GNOOOOOOOOOOOME MITTTTTENS!010

I started last week and I am already almost done the first mitten! Cannot believe it. It is just so fun knitting fair isle! This is my first fair isle project ever, I taught myself using a book I bought last wednesday. I am SO proud of myself right now.

So proud. So excited. So flippin in love. And so wishing I could start the other mitten right.now.

011012

Thumb side and Inside.

Instead I must work on my christmas ornaments for my family. Every year my parents give us each an ornament. Well this year, I decided to knit us each one! I’m only done my mom’s so far though. I made up the pattern to suit my yarn and needles. Hexis are on hold until I finish these, I’m using their needles!

026

I have 1 skein of red, 1 of green, and 1 of white. Should be able to crank out an L, M, C, maybe an S, and a J maybe as well. We’ll see.

I decided mom’s first, then dad, brother, chris (my boyfriend), me, and my brothers girlfriend last if I have time (Not sure if she’ll actually be there).

So…that’s what I’ve been up to! Hopefully in a week or two I will have a full pair of mittens 😀

Check out everyone else’s WIPS @ Tami’s Amis.

Edited to add: I forgot to link the gnome mitten pattern! It is from SpillyJane.

21 thoughts on “owlmazing makes….a very gnomey mitten!

  1. Oh my gosh those mittens are AMAZING! And you learned fair isle from a book! And this was your first time!!!!! Wow….just WOW! You should be proud of yourself. I would be too! I would be showing everyone, strangers included my mittens…THAT I KNIT 🙂

  2. WOW! Those are some awesome mittens, the fair isle came out so good! I don’t know if I could even begin to think about fair isle knitting (I’ve only been knitting for a few months) but maybe some day I’ll get up the courage to try! The inside even looks pretty cool too. I’m super impressed and you should definitely be proud of yourself (and you should totally show everyone you see and tell them that you knit them!).

    • Thank you so much 🙂 I’ve been knitting for a whiiile. I started when I was 13 and I’m almost 21 now! You too will get there one day. And seriously it is so so so much easier than I expected.

  3. Those are SO stinkin’ cute. I’d also like to know what book you bought because I tried some fair isle and I’m pretty sure both hands grew second thumbs. That’s the only way I can figure out how things went so wrong!

  4. Oh wow, I can’t believe that’s your first Fair Isle project—I love that mitten pattern, and your version is beyond gorgeous.

    The tiny sweater is fantastic, too, what a cool ornament/gift idea! It reminds me of Molly Weasley’s yearly Christmas sweater tradition in the Harry Potter books. 🙂

    • Thanks so much. I am so happy other people like it as much as I do!

      Yeah I love them! They knit up in about 2 hours ish. I think I’ll probably start some sort of tradition from them. I know my whole family will appreciate them 🙂

  5. Pingback: owlmazing makes…things she shouldn’t make. | owlmazingmakes

Leave a Reply

